Galvanized!

News this week that, following the report published by the National Audit Office, the goverment plans to cut support for children with Special Educational Needs (SEN) galvanized me into action.

I had been intending to start keeping a journal to track my son’s progress as he makes that difficult transition into the adult world. Instead, I decided to start a blog to take into account the changes which would inevitably have an effect on Harry’s future.

I have never been a campaigner or an activist. I have barely any connections with support groups. But this news gave me a sleepless night. I lay awake thinking about all the things we do for our children and wondered how on earth some parents will manage if these reforms take place.

We only have one child with SEN. There are families out there with 2, 3 or even 4 children with varying degrees of need. Each child requires their own Statement of SEN and Individual Education Programme (IEP). Each has appointments with GPs/therapists/consultants. Each has their own particular behavioural difficulties which necessitate special planning in order to get even basic everyday tasks accomplished.

On top of that we have other members of the family we need to consider: partners, siblings, aging parents. Oh, and some parents also have to work…

And now the government wants such parents to take on even more.

Haven’t we got enough on our plates?

3 responses to “Galvanized!

  1. Hello,
    My name is Amy and I’m a third year university student currently working on my dissertation which is centered around children with autism, I was wondering if I would be able to quote you within my work? I only ask as I’m trying to get different views from parents with children who are autistic, against what the government are proposing to do especially with the idea of cutting down support for children who really do need the support.

    Thank-you for your time, and I look forward to hearing your reply 🙂
    Amy

Leave a Reply

